March 25, 2013

******** On Repeat –  Everybody Hurts by Avril Lavigne

******** Famous Last Words “Your cuffs or mine.” Southland, Season 5 Episode 6

******** Daily Gripe  Stick It to Me

Grocery shopping. The first experience that sticks in my mind was when my sperm donor took me to Cub Food at around 6am in the morning, with his collection of coupons and list in hand. This was the time I recall that he taught me how to figure out how much something cost per ounce in order to figure out what size/brand was the best buy. This was long before uniform unit pricing.

Fast forward all these years later, and now the marketing tactics are to try to distract you from the uniform unit pricing that is now posted everywhere. Big bold print with deceptive adjectives or percentages in big bold print.

“Larger Than”

“More Than”

“….% free”

They do this  by mixing and matching between (for example) a newly introduced 59 oz container of something with the original 64 oz container of something (you bet I notice these fucking things), then one day they put a label on the stealthily “new” sized 59 oz jar “NEW LOW PRICE”.  They do this for chips, cereal, crackers etc (the list goes ON)!!!!

This is another of my favorites. “25% larger tacos” in HUGE lettering, but yet in the fine print they are telling you that they mean in comparison to other brands.  Nothing about their tacos have changed.

IMG_20130325_140832

Nothing about their tacos have changed.

So, as if it wasn’t enough to have the elderly blocking the entire wide aisle, those who are sightseeing their way through the store and the parents that bring their children to the grocery store so they can run around and burn off some energy, I have to constantly be on high alert for being screwed over by not only the people who didn’t do their job properly, entering the proper pricing (scanned or regular) into the store’s scanning system, but also the companies that put out their products. If all the world’s a stage, I really am done with this act.

******** Randomness –
Always There For You
I can totally understand why people turn to drugs or alcohol. These are always there for you when you need them.

******** R.I.F.- When the Past Is Present: Healing the Emotional Wounds That Sabotage Our Relationships, page 46 of 226.   Reading this book is bring about quite a bit of anger because I am seeing that I have been playing a role for the last two romantic relationships I was in, more than I already was aware.  So as much as I had and have worked on myself and as much as I set my own boundaries, they were holding me accountable for their own past. Which explains why the relationships were the way they were (not good for me).  Not exactly what I thought I would get out of this book. But I have gone this far, might as well see if there is anything I can still learn.
**Daily Math Word Problems**

