March 28, 2013

******* On repeat- Send  Her My Love by Journey
******* Famous last words-

******* Daily gripe- The Cream of the Crap

This online dating site must come with a common phrase handbook that I have yet to run across. I keep seeing the same recycled phrases over and over included within the various male profiles:

  • Laid back
  • Down to earth
  • Easy going
  • I am a nice guy
  • Chivalry is not dead
  • Looking for something real (What?  Your name isn’t Lars?)
  • Drama free (this is a BIG one. Sometimes they even HEADLINE with this winner)

Suitor#14 “Luke-warm”

When asked by me what he has to offer someone in a relationship, Suitor #14 uses the catch phrase “down to earth”.  I couldn’t HELP myself and our conversation is short-lived.

Me: what exactly is down to earth. i see that catch phrase so often. Does that mean you get down on your hands and knees and worship the dirt daily?

Suitor#14: Hun, scale back on the wise ass ness when we are being serious, ok? its not always cute (no, but it is ok for you to ask me for my boob size-that is ALWAYS cute!)

Me: That is just me.

Suitor#14 Douche-bag: OK then. lets cut this short. (Yes LET’S!)

Me: I have no idea what down to earth is supposed to mean. I hear people say it all the time, but I have yet to see it. Obviously this is not a good match. Good luck on your search.

Suitor#14 Douche-bag: you too. take care Hun. and for you record it means I don’t think I’m above anyone and I try to treat people the way I want to be treated

(Hmmmm- he couldn’t have lead with that explanation?  He had to instead tell me how I should behave/speak. Can we say power trip? I am not even going to get INTO the whole “treat people the way I want to be treated” remark.  That would just be entirely too much to rant about.)

Thank you, sir, for raising the red flags so early on.  I only wasted about 6 minutes out of my life. If I wanted a life coach, I would hire one!  What I am looking for is someone to date me for ME, not tell me how I should and shouldn’t speak to him in order to “be able” to date him, so- good riddance!

My first impression about this suitor was correct. Photo of guy with big muscles in tank top-avoid like the plague.

Then you have other types of photos that the suitors choose to post on their profile:

Why do I want to see a picture of you laying on your bed?

Or even better, I just had to copy and post it here (blacking out his features) because I could not do it justice to simply describe it.

What message do you think he was trying to send?

What message do you think he was trying to send?

Then for added amusement, there are those who can’t seem to spell their own profession:

The “forman” with a “Bachelors”

or
The “superviser” with a “masters degree”

******* Randomness – Sadness…having been in love with someone who never truly existed. Even sadder when it takes 20+ years to realize this. I guess better late than never to be able to take something and learn from THAT experience. It keeps me aware for today and each day going forward.

******* R.I.F. – When the Past Is Present: Healing the Emotional Wounds That Sabotage Our Relationships, page 52 of 226.  Making my way through slowly. No new impression since my last update on March 25, 2013.
** Daily Math word problems **

