April 5, 2013

******** On Repeat – This is Your Life by Switchfoot

******** Famous Last Words – School faculty member and Abigail looking over student ethnicity stats of the school she attends.

School faculty member: “1% White. Look, A! There’s you!”

(They must have rounded up since she is the only White student in her school and there are more than 200 students.)

******** A Word From The Unwise – Hind sight and (the correct access to information) really is 20/20

My best friend, Chris shared this with me! Love her! What would I do without her?

Wish I had had this for the inappropriate messages that suitors had sent me for their initial introductions to me!

Wish I would have had this for the inappropriate messages that suitors had sent me for their initial introductions to me!

 

******** Daily Gripe –Pet Peeves Presented to you by Uncle Isaac (and the letter Z)

Created by http://imgflip.com/memegenerator/1653097 Photo remains property of Isaac M.

Created by http://imgflip.com/memegenerator/1653097 Photo remains property of Isaac M.

******** Randomness – This is Your Life

This is your LIFE!

This is your LIFE!

As I was reading a blog I follow, I skimmed the comments and was considering my own writing and reflected back on something I had read a while back that encouraged us to imagine which famous writer we would want to write a biography of our life.

link here for the blog entry I am referencing –> http://playingyourhandright.wordpress.com/2013/04/04/writing-resume-help/

My choices for collaborating writers on my biography were Edgar Allan Poe and Erma Bombeck. I realized immediately that Bombeck has a great deal of influence as how I express my thoughts into written words.  The first time I picked up a book of hers-“If Life is a Bowl of Cherries, What Am I Doing In the Pitts?” I was eleven years old. A little odd I will admit, considering the genre, but her humor got me through some rough childhood times and has served me well in my adult years.

One day I will explain why I feel Edgar Allan Poe was my other choice for collaboration on a biography of my life.

Other authors that I believe influence my writing style (or maybe I am attracted to them because of how I now think because of growing up with Erma) are David Sedaris, Augusten Burroughs and Bill Bryson (although Bill Bryson’s humor is much more subtle and sane in comparison to the prior two writers).

******** R.I.F.-
**Daily Math Word Problems**

